Seneca Falls Machine Company

I remember passing this factory many many times as a kid – it always looked abandoned, and it was always mysterious. So I finally made a point to check it out, and was not disappointed. Just as mysterious as I thought it would be, and that’s what makes a good day of exploring: you leave with lots of cool pictures, but also lots and lots of unanswered questions. You are not just documenting a place that has been forgotten, you’re literally stepping back in time.

The factory was bought? or built? in 1864 by the Seneca Falls Machine Company. As I found out while researching, my great-great grandpa actually worked there, as I’m sure many in the community did when manufacturing was important to our economy. As long as I can remember, the sign out front said “Seneca Falls Technology Group,” but I don’t know when it changed hands. The property is now for sale, but it looks like the factory workers were just there yesterday.. lockers with clothing, shelves full of old machine parts, soda cans…..

 

7 thoughts on “Seneca Falls Machine Company

  1. My great Great grandfather E.R. Smithstarted this place. Its on 5& 20 in Seneca Falls, NY. My grandfather, father and mother all worked for the company at one time or another. When E.R. died he auctioned off everything instead of helping his family. He was a scheister and a rather unpleasant person.

Leave a comment